New Chairman and CEO

The post of earlier Chairman Railway board has been upgraded to Chairman and Chief Executive officer Railway Board by Government of India.

The earlier Chairman Shri V.K Yadav retired on 31st Dec 2020. He was already on an extended tenure after his formal retirement in Dec 2019.

Shri Suneet Sharma has now taken over as Chairman and CEO of Railway Board.

Suneet Sharma, Railway Board CEO & Chairman

He was working as General Manager of Eastern Railways before the new assignment. he is an officer of 1978 batch SCRA (Special Class Railway Apprentice). Shri Sharma has worked in various capacities of Indian Railways in his illustrious career.

He worked as General Manager of Modern Coach Factory Raebarely, Divisional Railway Manager Pune, Chief Mechanical Engineer Diesel Loco Works Varanasi, Additional Divisional Railway Manager Mumbai and many other senior level posts of Indian Railways. This vast experience of Railway systems will kick start a new growth of Indian Railways.

During 2006 train bombings, he was part of the squad managing the rescue operations and put the Railways operational within few hours of attack. In 2008 Mumbai terror attacks, he was part of the squad managing the CST station.

He is credited with completing long pending works, sectional speed enhancement works, simplification of the procedures, administrative reforms in railways. He is a hard task master and has been successful in leading from the front.

He has travelled to various countries extensively and has vision for the Indian Railways on world standards. Best wishes for him for leading Railways in the years to come and make this organization a glorious place to work.